never forgetting 9/11

11 years ago, between 8:45am and 9:15am, something happened while I was at school and I didn’t hear about it until 3:45pm that afternoon.

I remember walking into my house and hearing just the T.V. on in the living room, this was really weird because usually my family is busy talking and walking around the house, but this day everyone was in the living room. They were all just staring at the screen and when I looked to see what they were watching I didn’t know what I was looking at. I remember asking my dad where the event was, and my mom answering and telling me in was in New York, which is in the States.

My mother spoke with panic in her voice while on the phone with my aunt because another of her sisters had just been in New York so my mom was making sure she was no longer there. The aunt that had been in New York was my younger brother’s god-mother, so he started to cry but my parents made sure he knew that she was okay.

I still had no idea what happened, or even why it was happening. I wasn’t scared, I was just confused but had no idea what to say or ask. I remember staying quiet and just sitting down on the floor in front of the T.V. as the different videos of the tragedy showed up on the screen. We all stayed staring for about half an hour and then when it changed to the news people, I got up and walked to my room to do my homework. It hadn’t really affected me, and I guess because I didn’t really know what was happening and because I didn’t know anyone that lived in New York, that I didn’t really care at the age of 8.

The only time I was really clear about the event was in 2006 when World Trade Center came out; I watched that movie and recalled the event that I hadn’t understood. That movie probably helped a lot of people understand the event, and I’m grateful that it clarified things for me.

Leave a comment